Manage your Users

Add new users, update existing user information and roles, and remove users from your Merchant Portal account.

Extend allows you to manage new and existing users via the Merchant Portal, and assign them to user roles with specific permission sets.

πŸ“˜

Note

Users are added at the account level. If your account has multiple stores linked to it, each user added will have access to all of the stores associated with the account.

Add a User

You can add other members of your company to you Merchant Portal account by doing the following:

  1. Log into the Merchant Portal
  2. On the top navigation bar, click on the User Management button

  1. Click the Add New User button

  1. After filling in all the fields, click the Add User button

At this point, the user will receive an email verification email from Extend, prompting them to set their password in order to access the Merchant Portal account.

Update a User

Update a User's First/Last Name

You can update a user's first and last name via Merchant Portal account by doing the following:

  1. Log into the Merchant Portal
  2. On the top navigation bar, click on the User Management button

  1. Click the user in the list that you want to update

  1. After making updates to First Name and/or Last Name, click the Save button

🚧

Warning

Make sure to click the Save button after making any changes. If you do not click Save, your updates will not take effect.

Update a User's Permission Level

You can update a user's role (controls permission set) via your Merchant Portal account. After you have navigated to the user whose role you want to update, simply do the following:

  1. Click on the Role dropdown
  2. Select a new role from the dropdown
  3. Click the Save button

Remove a User

You can remove a user from your account using the Merchant Portal by simply doing the following:

  1. Log into the Merchant Portal
  2. On the top navigation bar, click on the User Management button

  1. Click on the user in the list that you want to remove from your account

  1. Click the Delete User button

  1. Click the Delete User button to confirm

πŸ“˜

Note

Removing a user from your Merchant Portal account will remove their access to any stores that they currently have access to. You will no longer have access to view or manage the user going forward.

Resend Email Invite

Whenever a new user is created, a confirmation email is sent to the new user prompting them to set a password in order to access their account. If this confirmation email gets lost, you can resend the email invite by simply doing the following:

  1. Log into the Merchant Portal
  2. On the top navigation bar, click on the User Management button

  1. Click the user in the list that you want to resend the email to

  1. Click the Resend Email Invite button

The user will receive another email prompting them to set their password in order to access the Merchant Portal account.

Field and Status Definitions

Every user from your company that you add to your Merchant Portal account has a specific set of fields describing the details and status of the user. The following fields are defined below. Additionally, you can view the field/status definitions within the Merchant Portal by hovering your cursor over column titles in your users list view or clicking the information icon beside the Status field.

Field Definitions

Field NameField Definition
NameYour internal user's name
EmailYour internal user's email
RoleRole assigned to the user which dictates their permissions in the Merchant Portal (see Role Definitions below)
StatusCurrent status of the user

Status Definitions

Status NameStatus Definition
ActiveUser has verified their email and can log into the Merchant Portal
PendingUser has not verified their email and set up their password. User cannot log into the Merchant Portal yet

Role Definitions

User Role

Definition

Permissions

Account Owner

The owner of the store, executive stakeholder, or website administrator/technician responsible for the integration.

View Products, Contracts, Leads, Claims, and Analytics

Edit Contracts

Enable/disable Offers

File Claims

Customize Offers and Store Logo

Modify Account Settings

Invite and manage Users

Claims Agent

A user with limited permissions to file and maintain Claims against Extend protection plans.

View Contracts and Claims

File Claims


What’s Next
Did this page help you?